Home / Adult neuro CEUs

Free adult neuro CEUs for SLPs

SLP Credits lists 16 free ASHA CEU courses for SLPs on aphasia, brain injury and dementia, 1.8 CEUs in all. The courses on this page were checked Oct 19 to 26, 2026. Illinois has a 1-hour Alzheimer's and dementia course rule for SLPs who see adults 26 or older. The IDFPR page and the rule text give different start dates.

Mostly aphasia and brain injury. One course is on dementia and one is on ALS.

Last checked Oct 19 to 26, 2026.

Find courses by need

Sixteen states have their own page so far. For the rest, the picker takes you to all courses. Check with your state board before you count a course.

Free courses (16)

16 courses. Checked as listed. Offers change, so confirm on the course page before you start.

ASHA counts hours and CEUs. 1 hour is 0.1 CEU, so ASHA’s 30 hours is 3.0 CEUs. Your state may count hours differently. Check your state page before you rely on a course.

Free courses (16)
CourseProviderLengthCreditPriceCounts towardChecked
A New Way of Communicating: AAC Assessment for Adults with Language LossCovers AAC and assessment. On demand from Tobii Dynavox (Learning Hub).Tobii Dynavox (Learning Hub)Not stated on page (ASHA counts 0.1 CEU as 1 contact hour)0.1 CEUFreeGeneralOct 22, 2026
AAC's Role in Aphasia Therapy: Supporting Communication and RecoveryCovers AAC and aphasia. On demand from Tobii Dynavox (Learning Hub).Tobii Dynavox (Learning Hub)Not stated on page (ASHA counts 0.1 CEU as 1 contact hour)0.15 CEUFreeGeneralOct 22, 2026
Communication Partner Training for AAC and AphasiaCovers AAC and aphasia. On demand from Tobii Dynavox (Learning Hub).Tobii Dynavox (Learning Hub)Not stated on page (ASHA counts 0.1 CEU as 1 contact hour)0.1 CEUFreeGeneralOct 22, 2026
Creating a Shared Space for Communication with TD Snap® AphasiaCovers AAC and aphasia. On demand from Tobii Dynavox (Learning Hub).Tobii Dynavox (Learning Hub)Not stated on page (ASHA counts 0.1 CEU as 1 contact hour)0.1 CEUFreeGeneralOct 22, 2026
Effective Communication when Working with Individuals with DementiaCovers dementia. On demand from UW Madison Department of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery.Ends Dec 31, 2026UW Madison Department of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery1 hr0.1 CEUFreeGeneralOct 26, 2026
Supporting People with Aphasia in Acute CareCovers aphasia. On demand from UW Madison Department of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery.UW Madison Department of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery1 hr0.1 CEUFreeGeneralOct 26, 2026
Family Systems in NeurorehabilitationCovers brain injury. On demand from Shepherd Center.Shepherd Center1 hr0.1 CEUFreeGeneralOct 26, 2026
Overview of Assessment and Prevention of Suicide After NeurodisabilityOn demand from Shepherd Center.Shepherd Center1.5 hr0.15 CEUFreeGeneralOct 26, 2026
Overview of Suicide Intervention After InjuryOn demand from Shepherd Center.Shepherd Center1 hr0.1 CEUFreeGeneralOct 26, 2026
Facilitating Wellness after Mild Traumatic Brain InjuryCovers brain injury. On demand from Shepherd Center.Shepherd Center1.5 hr0.15 CEUFreeGeneralOct 26, 2026
Suicide Risk Among Veterans with Mild Traumatic Brain InjuryCovers brain injury. On demand from Shepherd Center.Shepherd Center1 hr0.1 CEUFreeGeneralOct 26, 2026
Disorders of Consciousness - Assessment and Intervention StrategiesCovers brain injury. On demand from Shepherd Center.Shepherd Center1 hr0.1 CEUFreeGeneralOct 26, 2026
Behavior Management with Inpatient Acquired Brain Injury PopulationsCovers brain injury. On demand from Shepherd Center.Shepherd Center1 hr0.1 CEUFreeGeneralOct 26, 2026
Leveraging Technology for Adult Neuro Treatment and Carryover: The Virtual Rehab CenterCovers aphasia. On demand from New Hampshire Speech, Language & Hearing Association.New Hampshire Speech, Language & Hearing Association1.5 hr0.15 CEUFreeGeneralOct 26, 2026
Supporting Communication in PPA: AAC Strategies for SLPs on November 17, 2026 @ 1:00pm ETLive webinar on Nov 17, 2026, from Lingraphica (Campus by Lingraphica).Ends Nov 17, 2026Lingraphica (Campus by Lingraphica)1 hr0.1 CEUFreeGeneralOct 26, 2026
Communication and Swallowing Management for ALS Patients with TracheostomyCovers feeding and swallowing, plus tracheostomy. Free through the Passy-Muir Education Portal.Passy-Muir1 hr0.1 CEUFreeGeneralOct 19, 2026

Before you count a course

These courses are listed as general ASHA PDHs. None is tagged ethics or Content Area 2, and you decide whether a course fits a content area. How ASHA certification maintenance works.

The four Tobii Dynavox courses show no price or course length on the course page. Tobii Dynavox calls its Learning Hub courses free, a free account is required, and the CEU amount comes from the ASHA brand block on the page.

Shepherd Center brochures list an expiration date, but it sits outside the ASHA section, so no ASHA end date is shown. The brochure for Facilitating Wellness after Mild Traumatic Brain Injury lists December 12, 2026.

Supporting Communication in PPA is a live webinar on November 17, 2026. The course page now asks for a Campus sign-in, so we used ASHA CEFind, which lists it as free at 0.1 ASHA CEUs and 1 hour.

The New Hampshire Speech, Language & Hearing Association course is a replay that demonstrates a commercial product, the Tactus Virtual Rehab Center.

ASHA CEU eligibility is what the provider listed when we checked. Your state board sets its own rules, so check there before you count a course toward a license.

Illinois: the 1-hour Alzheimer's and dementia course

IDFPR says health care professionals with CE requirements and a renewal on or after January 1, 2025 must complete at least a one-hour course on the diagnosis, treatment, and care of individuals with Alzheimer's disease and other dementias. The page lists the Illinois Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Practice Act among the covered acts. Read it on the IDFPR continuing education page.

The rule text, 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.550, lists speech-language pathologists, speech-language pathology assistants and audiologists. It says the requirement starts at the first renewal on or after January 1, 2023. The IDFPR page and the rule text give different start dates, so confirm with IDFPR which one applies to your renewal.

The requirement applies to professionals who provide services to, and have direct patient interactions with, adults age 26 or older. The course must cover assessment and diagnosis, effective communication strategies, and management and care planning. It can be a classroom course, a webinar or an online course, it is repeated once every six years, and the hour counts toward your CE minimum. Allowed providers include Division-approved CE providers, accredited colleges and universities, and licensed health care institutions for their own employees.

A free course with a topic match: Effective Communication when Working with Individuals with Dementia from the UW Madison Department of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery is a free 1-hour university course (0.10 ASHA CEU). A university is an allowed provider. We could not confirm from the course page that it covers all three topics IDFPR names, so it may count. Confirm with IDFPR. The course is listed until Dec 31, 2026.

For the rest of Illinois, see the Illinois SLP CE requirements: 20 hours every two years, with at least 1 hour of ethics.

All free courses

SLP CreditsTuesdays

Want the next free ones on Tuesday?

Free courses come and go. Each Tuesday we send the free ones we checked that week.

Next email: Tuesday morning.

Send me Tuesday's free list

Takes you to the signup box on this page. Unsubscribe anytime.

Run CE courses? Get featured.

Questions

Do these courses count toward ASHA certification maintenance?

Each course lists ASHA CEUs, 1.8 in all across the 16. They are listed as general PDHs. None is tagged ethics or Content Area 2, and you decide whether a course fits a content area.

Is there a free course for Illinois's 1-hour dementia rule?

Possibly. The UW Madison course on communication with individuals with dementia is free, 1 hour and from a university, which the rule lists as an allowed provider. We could not confirm it covers all three topics IDFPR names, so it may count. Confirm with IDFPR.

When does the Illinois dementia course requirement start?

The IDFPR page says renewals on or after January 1, 2025. The rule text, 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1130.550, says the first renewal on or after January 1, 2023. They differ, so confirm with IDFPR which applies to you.

Do I need an account to take these?

Some do. Tobii Dynavox, Lingraphica and UW Madison ask you to sign in or register. Check each course page for price and dates before you start.

Sources

Courses checked Oct 19 to 26, 2026. ASHA and Illinois rules checked Oct 27, 2026. Rules change, so confirm with ASHA or your board before you count on anything here.

More guides

State CE requirements