Home / Free ethics CEUs
Free ethics CEUs for SLPs
Since Jan 1, 2026, ASHA requires 1 ethics hour per interval, plus 2 hours of cultural responsiveness, self-reflection or collaboration in every 3-year cycle. Here are the free courses for both.
States that require ethics: Texas requires 2 ethics hours, Ohio requires 2 and Illinois requires 1. Maryland requires 1 ethics hour each renewal too.
Last checked Oct 21 to 22, 2026.
Find courses by need
Sixteen states have their own page so far. For the rest, the picker takes you to all courses. Check with your state board before you count a course.
Free ethics courses (Content Area 1)
6 courses. Checked as listed. Offers change, so confirm on the course page before you start.
ASHA counts hours and CEUs. 1 hour is 0.1 CEU, so ASHA’s 30 hours is 3.0 CEUs. Your state may count hours differently. Check your state page before you rely on a course.
| Course | Provider | Length | Credit | Price | Counts toward | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diverse and Ethical Representation in AACCovers AAC, plus bilingual and culturally responsive practice. On demand from ableU (AbleNet).ableU reporting note below | ableU (AbleNet) | 1 hr | 0.1 CEU | Free | Ethics | Oct 21, 2026 |
| Ethical Considerations in SLP and BCBA CollaborationOn demand from ableU (AbleNet).ableU reporting note below | ableU (AbleNet) | 1 hr | 0.1 CEU | Free | Ethics | Oct 21, 2026 |
| Navigating Ethical Predicaments in Your Work with Diverse StudentsCovers school-based practice, plus bilingual and culturally responsive topics. Listed at $0.00 on the provider page. | Bilinguistics | 1 hr | 0.1 CEU | Free | Ethics | Oct 21, 2026 |
| Ethical Decision-Making: A Public Health Emergency and Unprecedented ChallengesOpen Access course. Certificate included. | Lavi Institute | 1 hr | 0.1 CEU | Free | Ethics | Oct 21, 2026 |
| Talking About the Taboo: Ethics, Safety, and Responsibility in Vocabulary InclusionCovers AAC. On demand from Tobii Dynavox (Learning Hub). | Tobii Dynavox (Learning Hub) | Not stated | 0.15 CEU | Free | Ethics | Oct 22, 2026 |
| Why AAC Matters - Ethical Solutions for Speech Language PathologistsCovers AAC. On demand from Tobii Dynavox (Learning Hub). | Tobii Dynavox (Learning Hub) | Not stated | 0.1 CEU | Free | Ethics | Oct 22, 2026 |
About ableU rows. Free to take. If you want ableU to report it to ASHA for you, ASHA charges a Registry fee. You can skip that. Keep your certificate and report the hours yourself.
Before you start
ableU courses are free, but ableU only reports them to ASHA for you if you pay ASHA's CE Registry fee. Otherwise keep the certificate and report it yourself.
Lavi's course includes the certificate and ASHA reporting. Bilinguistics lists its course at $0.00 with a quiz at the end.
The Tobii Dynavox courses need a free Learning Hub account and a final quiz at 80%. Their pages show ASHA CEUs but not hours, so hours read Not stated.
If your state asks for its own ethics hours, the board's rules decide what counts. See your state page.
Need more than one hour, say for Texas or Ohio? We also list 64 paid ethics courses with prices on the paid ethics and supervision page.
Free courses for Content Area 2
13 courses. Checked as listed. Offers change, so confirm on the course page before you start.
ASHA counts hours and CEUs. 1 hour is 0.1 CEU, so ASHA’s 30 hours is 3.0 CEUs. Your state may count hours differently. Check your state page before you rely on a course.
| Course | Provider | Length | Credit | Price | Counts toward | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bilingual AAC at HomeCovers AAC, plus bilingual and culturally responsive practice. On demand from ableU (AbleNet).ableU reporting note below | ableU (AbleNet) | 1 hr | 0.1 CEU | Free | Cultural responsiveness | Oct 21, 2026 |
| Trauma-Informed Care for Service ProvidersOn demand from ableU (AbleNet).ableU reporting note below | ableU (AbleNet) | 1 hr | 0.1 CEU | Free | Cultural responsiveness | Oct 21, 2026 |
| Speech Therapy for the Life Skills ClassroomCovers school-based practice. Listed at $0.00 on the provider page. | Bilinguistics | 1 hr | 0.1 CEU | Free | Cultural responsiveness | Oct 21, 2026 |
| LSL in Spanish Part 1: Impactful Intervention to Support the Home LanguageOn demand from Hearing First. | Hearing First | Not stated | 0.6 CEU | Free | Cultural responsiveness | Oct 21, 2026 |
| LSL in Spanish Part 2: Delving Deeper Into Intervention for Spanish-Speaking FamiliesOn demand from Hearing First. | Hearing First | Not stated | 0.6 CEU | Free | Cultural responsiveness | Oct 21, 2026 |
| Addressing Disparities in Pediatric Hearing HealthcareOn demand from Hearing First. | Hearing First | Not stated | 0.2 CEU | Free | Cultural responsiveness | Oct 21, 2026 |
| Family-Centered Pediatric Hearing Healthcare: Social Determinants of Health and Psychosocial NeedsOn demand from Hearing First. | Hearing First | Not stated | 0.4 CEU | Free | Cultural responsiveness | Oct 21, 2026 |
| Supporting Culturally & Linguistically Diverse Populations: The Magic of AAC - October 2026Free login on Campus by Lingraphica. Available until Oct 31, 2026.Ends Oct 31, 2026 | Lingraphica (Campus by Lingraphica) | 2.5 hr | 0.25 CEU | Free | Cultural responsiveness | Oct 22, 2026 |
| Language, Culture, and Connection: Practical Bilingual AAC Strategies - October 2026Free login on Campus by Lingraphica. Available until Oct 31, 2026.Ends Oct 31, 2026 | Lingraphica (Campus by Lingraphica) | 1 hr | 0.1 CEU | Free | Cultural responsiveness | Oct 22, 2026 |
| Equity in Healthcare: Be the Change - October 2026Free login on Campus by Lingraphica. Available until Oct 31, 2026.Ends Oct 31, 2026 | Lingraphica (Campus by Lingraphica) | 1 hr | 0.1 CEU | Free | Cultural responsiveness | Oct 22, 2026 |
| The Digital Divide in Aphasia Care: Social Determinants and Access Barriers - October 2026Free login on Campus by Lingraphica. Available until Oct 31, 2026.Ends Oct 31, 2026 | Lingraphica (Campus by Lingraphica) | 1 hr | 0.1 CEU | Free | Cultural responsiveness | Oct 22, 2026 |
| Neurodiversity-Affirming Support for Autistic AAC UsersCovers AAC and autism. On demand from Tobii Dynavox (Learning Hub). | Tobii Dynavox (Learning Hub) | Not stated | 0.1 CEU | Free | Cultural responsiveness | Oct 22, 2026 |
| Representation Matters: Supporting Diversity and Inclusion in AACCovers AAC, plus bilingual and culturally responsive practice. On demand from Tobii Dynavox (Learning Hub). | Tobii Dynavox (Learning Hub) | Not stated | 0.1 CEU | Free | Cultural responsiveness | Oct 22, 2026 |
About ableU rows. Free to take. If you want ableU to report it to ASHA for you, ASHA charges a Registry fee. You can skip that. Keep your certificate and report the hours yourself.
How to count Content Area 2
Topic matches. The two ableU courses say they are registered as Content Area 2. The two Tobii Dynavox courses say they are registered under the ASHA subject Culture, Language, and Identity. The other pages do not name a content area, so you decide whether a course fits and self-attest in your ASHA account.
Hearing First pages show course length, not ASHA hours, and Tobii Dynavox pages show ASHA CEUs, not hours. Both read Not stated. Check the course page before you count it.
The Lingraphica courses need a free Campus by Lingraphica login and are offered until Oct 31, 2026. Lingraphica says some of them focus on its own AAC devices.
For more on choosing and logging these hours, see the free cultural responsiveness CEUs page.
SLP CreditsTuesdays
Want the next free ones on Tuesday?
Free courses come and go. Each Tuesday we send the free ones we checked that week.
Next email: Tuesday morning.
Takes you to the signup box on this page. Unsubscribe anytime.
Share this with your SLP team. Copy the link
Questions
Which free course covers ASHA's ethics hour?
Any of the 6 in the first table. Each provider lists its course as ethics. Check the hours or ASHA CEUs on each row, since the Tobii Dynavox pages do not state hours.
What does ASHA require now?
Out of 30 hours every 3 years: 1 hour in ethics (Content Area 1) and 2 hours in cultural responsiveness, self-reflection or collaboration (Content Area 2). These apply to intervals that start on or after Jan 1, 2026. ASHA explains it here.
Can one course count for both?
ASHA says you can count a course toward one requirement or split its time between both.
Do I get a certificate?
Yes, after you finish the course and any quiz. Each provider emails or posts it.
Sources
Courses checked Oct 19, 2026. ASHA and state rules checked Oct 19, 2026. Rules change, so confirm with ASHA or your board before you count on anything here.